the thoughts and aspirations of a wannabe

What I’m Thankful For

In A few of my favorite things, Coffee, Living inside my TV on November 25, 2010 at 11:30 pm

Happy Thanksgiving!

We know all too well that the Pilgrims were not nearly thankful enough for the Native Americans’ assistance, but for some reason that has never tarnished the meaning of this holiday. In light of that, I would like to contribute my own list of things I’m thankful for.

  • My family’s sense of humor.

    The staff of my school newspaper last year

  • A healthy body
  • Tobias Fünke
  • Anyone who makes me laugh
  • The teachers and mentors who have shaped my education and way of thinking: Meg Thomas, Judith Roof, Al Massey, and Laura Ross.

  • Netflix
  • My Journalism family from last year, as well as the current, lovely Chronicle staff–in particular: Elina’s fantastic insight, Emily’s phenomenal dancing, and CJ’s late-night, dinnertime stories.
  • My home
  • People who push my buttons but make me a better person.
  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1. That was such an emotional evening for me.
  • Tina Fey and her creations
  • Lorne Michaels, while I’m at it. SNL, and therefore my childhood and adolescence would not be the same without him.
  • Lizzy Rinner, Grace Alymer, and Miranda Priestly from The Devil Wears Prada, for showing me how to be a badass editor.
  • My English class. Just kidding, not really. But sort of.
  • Frank Sinatra music for unintentionally bringing the Christmas spirit to any time of year
  • My excellent friends: Taylor Sullivan has decided to put up with me for a long time, which I greatly appreciate, Alina Tamborini is simply a joy, Heidi Kroos likes me whether or not my clothes match, and Sarah Kovan needs no explanation.
  • Having known Sarina Seger and Heather Comstock. I’m thankful for that every day.
  • The words and wisdom of Gus Cook
  • Michigan beaches
  • The guy at my local Starbucks who gives me free coffee.
  • Quiet, Saturday mornings spent in my favorite chair
  • People who accept or even enjoy my oddities.
  • A life to look forward to.

“Be thankful for what you have; you’ll end up having more.
If you concentrate on what you don’t have,
you will never, ever have enough.”

– Oprah Winfrey

What are you thankful for? Leave a comment, and enjoy the holiday.

Leave a Reply

